Arkansas directory contains relevant links across Arkansas including local guide, investment, advertising, shopping, service, travel, transportation, education, history, culture.

Archive for the ‘Recreation and Sports’ Category

Motorcycle Resorts in Arkansas

Wednesday, November 20th, 2013

The Ozark Mountain area of Arkansas have some of the best riding roads. In fact, the entire state is one of the most motorcycle friendly. You can cruse for miles on a deserted, two lane, curvy wonder. There is scenery that seems to go on forever. There are roads that stretch through hills, mountains and amazing resort towns. There is something for everyone to do and see. There is no better way to see Arkansas than from a motorcycle. Arkansas is also home to some great bikers only resorts. Some are small, some larger, but you will want to call them all home.

The Hub is a huge motorcycle resort in Marble Falls, Arkansas. They feature a 45 unit motel with wireless internet available in all the rooms. They have an on site restaurant, Scooters, that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. There is plenty of room for large groups of riders, and even a game room and a convention center for extremely large events. There is plenty of paved parking available. Call ahead for large group availability and tour information. They will even help plan a nice ride for you and your group. Riders Rest in Eureka Springs, Arkansas is a six acre biker get away with awesome, private views of Red Bud Valley. The entire valley is captivating. Some of the most scenic touring roads in Arkansas are in Eureka Springs. The owners of Riders Rest will assist riders with ride planning tailored just for you. Call and plan your tour today! Make your trip to Arkansas one you will never forget.

The Iron Horse Stables facilities are extremely motorcycle friendly. They have 14 rooms available, an on site restaurant, a service shop, washers and dryers, and on-site massage therapy to help riders unwind after a long hard day riding and site seeing. They also have a certified mechanic on duty, just in case of a breakdown. A small chapel is also available for Sunday services and weddings. Smoking rooms are available. A one stop shop for all your motorcycle traveling needs. Iron Horse Stables is a perfect place to have the ultimate biker wedding.

Arkansas Bear Hunting Laws & Regulations

Thursday, October 14th, 2010

You can legally hunt bears in Arkansas as long as you follow the rules and regulations set forth by that state. This guide was created in 2010 to help educate hunters on the rules regarding bear hunting in Arkansas. We hope this will make sense of some of the regulation wording that too many can seem impossible to understand. You must have a commission issued bear tag and a bear permit. There is a penalty of $100 to $1000 for failing to obtain the proper permit and bear tag required by Arkansas law. You can obtain these online at the Arkansas Game & Fish Commission website.

There are restrictions on the type of devices to be used to kill bears while hunting them. This includes compliance with Commission Code 06.02, 08.04, 08.06 & 07.02. You can look these codes up on their website; these are rifle and crossbow laws that aren’t in the main scope of this article, further more you cannot use shotguns that are 20 gauge or larger using only rifled slugs. The penalty for failing to comply is $100 to $1000 and doesn’t include the penalties for violating any state gun laws.

You are required to wear a specific amount of safety orange on your body. This must be worn above the waist line and consist of the color range 595nm to 605nm (Hunter Orange) or florescent chartreuse within the color range of 55nm to 565nm (Hunter Safety Green). You must have a total of at least 400 square inches of the mentioned colors and a florescent blaze orange or florescent chartreuse head garment must be visibly worn on the head. They penalty ranges from $50 to $1000 for failing to comply and this also can result in serious injury or death.

It’s illegal to use bear baiting methods at any time for the sole purchase of luring or attracting bears. However, on private lands in bear zones 1, 2, 5 and 5A it is allowed 30 days before opening day. The penalty is $100 to $1000 for failure to comply. You are not allowed to shoot a bear inside of its den, along with disturbing a bear to make it leave its den to be shot. Not only is there a fine of $500 to $1000 you can also spend up to 10 days in jail and pay restitution.